










it is going very well, for the most part....today I think I really started to realize that my waiting is really over...all that difficult time of waiting, wondering, etc...and he is really here...in some ways it feels like he has always been here....I have attached to him really well and he is showing signs of bonding with me too....there have however been difficult times....as Matteo was not sleeping through the night and we were both dealing with jetlag...our days were going well but our nights were terrible...and while I was trying to be patient, the lack of sleep, made it very difficult and I wasn't at times....so about 5 days ago after doing some reading on helping him to sleep through the night, I eliminated the night time feedings ( as he was feeding more at night than during the day...) so, yes he cried, and I went in every five minutes to reassure him and then eventually he fell asleep...so now he is a much better sleeper and I am getting more sleep and we are doing much better....everyone who has met Matteo thinks he's wonderful....he laughs so much and others are able to make him laugh....he loves being held and being with people....we are enjoying each other's company....he loves to play, but also is very headstrong and already knows what he likes and doesn't like and his screams (which others have not heard) tell me as much....
I am feeling peaceful and grateful and exhausted all at once...I think this 4.5 year pregnancy exhaustion has set in....and the relief is incredible....even if it is a lot of work....I am also getting better at staying organized with formula, food etc...and am even starting to make my own food for Matteo....and even starting to get a bit into the spirit of Christmas....one of my cousins, who will be one of Matteo's godfathers for his baptism, felt that it was important that Matteo had a tree so last saturday he came and put the tree up and we decorated it.....the next morning Matteo was in awe....all this to say, the magic of this season is sleeping in his crib.....two weeks home and we have gotten a lot accomplished, ohip card, citizenship papers sent off and regular passport has been picked up....Matteo got so many lovely gifts at his welcome home shower and I am still sorting them, and even Max and Vanh gave him a special gift of a pooh and tigger plate set....he is loved by so many already and today I was thinking of his birth mother and again feeling so grateful and sad that she could not be part of this little boy's life...he has such a rich personality and his mischievous grin makes me smile all the time....
....I feel blessed to have been entrusted with Matteo and his life and know that I am already richer for it....all the pain, stress, waiting, confusion, and hope were all worth it as many others have said...and for all others waiting, keep the faith, keep hoping....tis the season of infinite hope isn't it....
....anyhow there is so much more I want to write about in regards to our time in Vietnam and hope to do so slowly as this blog will also continue to be a blog for Matteo to look at and read one day.....so for now, some images of the many family visitors....









