Monday, November 29, 2010

Happy 6 month birthday Matteo, my little tigger!



Today we had an inpromptu 6 month birthday party for Matteo...I had gotten a message that Lea and Zeke were heading out for a walk, and we too were trying to get out so that we could get some pastries for the occasion. It has been hard to coordinate our meetings with babies on different scedules and this morning it all worked out without effort...Matteo and I had gone to the Binh An4 to try to organize some travel plans and happily bumped into Lea and Zeke who were just heading out...so we decided to go for coffee together at the Garden Restaurant (the place with the Christmas Palm trees) which is where I was going to get the pastries...then we stopped back at the Binh An1 where I am staying to ask some questions...one of the offices for the orphanages is here at the Binh An1...we took enough time, that who should come down the street but Georgina and Mario and Galen...so we did take photos of all of us together but will have to wait to be able to post them. While Georgina, Mario and Galen were not going to stop in for a morning drink, they decided to as it might be the last occasion in Vung Tau for us to get together....so they did and it was great..

...also to my happy surprise they had a little tigger cake (Matteo was born in the year of the tiger....)...and they did have a candle...so it was so nice to be able to share in this birthday and share it with some special new friends....

Anyhow it was a beautiful morning and a lovely visit....Matteo and I had hoped to then spend the afternoon on the beach but it was not to be...some crankiness, some teething issues and Matteo went down for a later nap so we ended up not going to the beach, where we'll try to go tomorrow for the last time...















Sunday, November 28, 2010

The Garden Restaurant

Yesterday evening after our stroll Matteo and I went to our first restaurant together (we did have breakfast together at the hotel in Saigon and lunch with Lea and Zeke there, that experience for Matteo was not as good as this one.).... We were just going to stop in so I could have a coffee, and maybe we were going to be joined by Lea and Zeke, but they couldn't make it and it was so nice and not very busy and Matteo seemed to like it so I ended up having some food to eat....it was delicious and Matteo was so good...we played and looked and took photos and he only started to fuss when he wanted to sleep and his timing was great...I ordered, we played, he fussed, and then fell asleep and then the food came...not sure what it was though my appetizers had shrimp...the menu was all in Vietnamese and I ordered via the photos...again delicious...I had shrimp appetizers that I ate too quickly and did not get a photo, and then some steamed meat and mushroom dumplings and then the pho was also delicious and I think it was pork...anyhow as you will see from the photos we arrived when it was still light out and left when dark descended...he slept and I enjoyed the lovely evening...it is very near the Binh Ans so we did not have far to go to get home...but I thought it was a great excursion....one of many...this is the restaurant that has wrapped its palm trees in red and green in honour of Christmas, one of only a few Christmas decorations around...






























Saturday, November 27, 2010

Answering questions ...and travel..

Hi Samantha, thank you so much for posting details of how Max and Vanh responded to baby teo's photos...looking forward to the actual meeting...as for travel, even with the opening that the travel agent has found, that would get me into Toronto on the 5th and then into Ottawa on the morning of the 6th which is a Monday morning I believe3, therefore I'm sure individuals would be working so the airport welcome still won't work.... and thank you Sharon and B. for your willingness to help out and have me stay over for the night etc. (Sharon I have more photos and video for you and will try to send in the next day or so )...however while I look forward to visiting you both in Toronto, I would rather it not be under these circumstances of one tired evening...Matteo and I are adjusting to each other and there is less screaming but he still has difficulty with too much going on around him so am trying to balance that with our needing to negotiate through people to get home....so will check with the travel agent tomorrow and if there is something available on the 4th all the way through to Ottawa then I will come home early and leave for hcmc on the 2nd, stay a day to regroup and hopefully leave on the 4th...if not then I will keep the regular ticket I have and return on the 9th, have a few more strolls in vungtau, maybe have time for a tour and then head to hcmc on the 6th with a 3 nights there to do a bit of visiting the city, and then, leave on the 9th for home.......at the moment it is Sunday afternoon here, most of you are sleeping in Canada....

Friday, November 26, 2010

Bundle of Love....




















A big thank you for posts on the blog and emails...

Just a short note to thank everyone for your messages, both email and here on the blog...because of the time difference most of you send me messages that I get in the middle of the night and because of this they have kept me company in the wee hours of the morning when a little boy is crying and in the moments that I wait to see if he is asleep I usually check messages quickly on my iphone...I sometimes have not responded quickly but I TREMENDOUSLY appreciate getting everyone's notes, offers of help, suggestions or just hellos...During the day it is easy to not feel alone, Lea is nearby and continues to give me lots of help in getting to know vungtau, Gina has also been a big help and Loan is a phone call away to offer any assistance..and now I do have Georgina and Mario right next door...but during the nights with the wee one who I am still learning about, it has been isolating, but with your messages,it has and continues to help me make it through the nights...so GRAZIE and please do continue to write and forgive me if I do not respond right away...know that I get your messages and appreciate them so so much!!! dal cuore grazie!!

Wednesday, November 24, 2010

Matteo Bao







I started this post on my birthday and hope to finish tonight if I can...Matteo and I have had a exhausting couple of days..we just got back from Saigon (HCMC) a couple of hours ago and the little one is asleep...but there was no schedule today and though he was a trouper, he was exhausted and so was I and he sure can scream...

We managed to get through the paperwork but in all honesty, Loan our terrific agency representative does most of it...she guides us through what's happening but is so good at what she does that she keeps things very organized....We came to Ho Chi Minh City yesterday in order to begin the first stage of the last bit of paperwork...I took the ferry from Vungtau with Matteo but it was not a great experience...he was just looking at everything which is great as he is so curious but also too much stimulation and there was a television screen and a fan side by side...he kept watching the television, trying to catch the air of the fan and trying to take the cellphone from the person next to us....he sure likes tech toys already..

...anyhow I thought he would sleep, but he didn't so when we arrived in Saigon, later than I thought we were already behind schedule....we made it to the hotel but only had time to change Matteo and feed him and head to the doctor's...we went to the same clinic where Matteo had his medical in August...We did not see doctor Jonathan as he was sick himself so saw one of his colleagues....Matteo now weighs 6.1 kg...but is now at the 3rd percentile...I had instructions to start giving him different kinds of foods to fatten him up....we were there about his cold and also because the day before Matteo had a fever and sure enough he still had a border line fever...could be a fever or not.......the doctor wasn't worried...could be the cold or that he is teething...the good news was that his chest was clear, though his nose wasn't...He was perscribed some saline spray for his nose...which I am having trouble using...but will continue to try...if his fever rises then and especially when we are travelling home, I am to give him some of the medicine to bring it down..

..after our appt. Lea was waiting for us and we went to the coffee shop next door where Lea and her aunt remembered it was my birthday and treated me to my first iced vietnamese coffee..it was wonderfull..we were waiting for Loan and she arrived with a second surprise, a cake..THANKS LOAN...in the photos above but unfortunately we were not able to share it then because we had two appts to head to...one at the Notary office in order to notarize the translated adoption documents that we will use in Canada...and the second was to apply for Matteo Bao's Vietnamese passport...this office was so crowded and it is where we spent a lot of time...afterwards everyone was exhausted...we all headed back to the hotel, all by cab and as many of you know the traffic, rush hour was even heavier than usual...was so glad to get to the hotel..

...and after feeding and changing Matteo he fell fast asleep....I instead poured over info. on the hotel and could not find the number to call room service...finally Lea rescued me from this moment of panic and told me who to call...after I ate of course we were all planning to meet ot share the cake but everyone was tired...so instead I lit the candles...really did not have to make a birthday wish because I already received the wish and
the best birthday present ever...my son...Matteo Bao...
.. though I did make a special wish hoping that there is a seat on an earlier flight...will keep you posted on that..but at the moment all that is available is on the 5th but as far as Toronto...would have to wait for the 6th to travel home to Ottawa and not sure if the extra traffic is worth it...anyhow will see..

Anyhow after a good night's sleep on Wed. morning, I unfortunately had to wake Matteo from his morning nap in order to head to another coffee shop to meet Loan so that we could go to the Canadian consolate to request Matteo's Canadian passport...and once again Loan had everything organized...this did not take long...Lea and I then decided to have lunch at the hotel..good food, and unfortunately Matteo was having a rough time...My carrier is too warm for him and I'm sure that is not helping his mood...so after a difficult 45 minutes we headed to the ferry where once again for Matteo there was too much stimulus such that he could not get himself to sleep...I hope to not have to take that ferry again...I will instead take a taxi from Vungtau to HCMC..which I will do a couple of nights before my flight...I would highly recommend staying in Vungtau should you be coming this way however if you are doing so for adoption..and need to get to saigon I would recommend stretching it over 3 days...the city is amazing but for a little one and for a new mom still getting used to the needs of her little boy, it was too much to try to do in 2 days....but the important thing is that the final bit of paper work is now done and we now await the passports which should be in anytime from the 1st to the 3rd..hence why I am hoping to travel home on the 4th..

Anyhow Matteo was exhausted..did not want food or drink and went directly to sleep..

The real purpose of this post was to respond to questions my neice Madeline had about Matteo...it is now Friday and I am hoping again to finish this today.....so about Matteo, he is definitely a curious child, hope I can post a few photos of him playing and trying to turn the pages of one of the books I brought "you are my I love you" from Aunt Marsha and "A Mother for Choco" Those in the adoption community will recognize that one...it was the first story I read to him....I made the choice to adopt him and hope one day that he too will chose to adopt me....anyhow he has dimples, I happily discovered this when I made him laugh by bouncing him off my belly and raising him up and down and bouncing ...he LOVES that, but hard to take a photo when both my hands are busy..he loves to twirl my hair when he is drinking his bottle,sometimes he twirls and sometimes he pulls...he can scream really loud as I have discovered over the past few days....today I think it was the teeth because everything else didn't work...anyhow our first night together was both good and bad...that first shot of him in the cute duck outfit...well he woke up after half an hour...I fed and changed him and sang to him and he fell asleep for 5 hours....from 5:30 to 10:30....I tried to heed everyone's advice about sleeping when he does but only managed to do that from 7 onward but of course did not really sleep as I was listening for him to wake...anyhow then he was awake for 2 hours and we played and that's when I read to him...he looked at the pictures intently, loved how the pages turned...felt the book with his little hands, tried to turn the pages and then decided his mouth had to lick it to see what it tasted like...so a combination of being curious about books to just another object for his mouth....he did not like bathtime at the orphanage and screamed and screamed as he did here so tonight I finally made it more playful with not a lot of water being poured over his head and he started to enjoy the water...would hate for him to fear the water, coming from such a coastal place...so we are working on that....he is laid back but does want what he wants when he wants it, but the problem is I can't understand what he wants at times...so we are learning and he is definitely grieving ..that first night he slept in fits, half hour, an hour and no amount of soothing on my part worked....he looked at me and pushed me away, and then screamed and then slept and we went through that all night...the next morning he slept for close to 3 hours so we both were more refreshed, and he was in a better mood....and he loved sucking on my face and gave me wet kisses...when I change him he likes to have raspberry kisses on his belly and on his cheek...he actually loves when I change his diaper as if he knows he will be nice and fresh afterwards....he has learned to crawl a bit and can push himself in his crib and on the floor towards what he wants to get so before long he will be doing this much more quickly....he will sometimes fall asleep on my shoulder but at other times will insist I put him in bed and he just falls asleep.....I think we are adjusting well, but again, there are moments of panic on his part where he looks around and doesn't know where he is and he looks scared...I do what I can but he just has to go through the grieving, if that is what it is....I hold him and talk to him and try to make sure his other needs are met, but when nothing else works, then I just know it is his way of dealing with a major change....anyhow he loves being out in the carriage...vungtau is such a beautiful city, run down in some areas but in others very well structured and elegant houses decorate the streets....have lots of photos to add but will do that slowly...Matteo is now asleep after a short visit and shopping with Lea and a walk around the neighbourhood....Anyhow Madeline if I have not answered your questions here then let me know and I'll write some more....but for now some photos..

Do you remember this Samantha...Last year's Christmas gift from Max and Vanh when Matteo was still only a dream...and look the little dragonfly onsie fits perfectly..